About Us

A statue in front of the museum honors explorer Major John Wesley Powell, who began his famous expedition at Expedition Island in Green River.Welcome to the Sweetwater County Historical Museum!
Established in 1967, the museum is housed in a renovated 1930 post office building and contains a collection of several thousand artifacts, a large historical photograph collection, and local history research material.

Discover the rich cultural heritage of southwestern Wyoming at the Sweetwater County Historical Museum. Explore the stories of Native Americans, explorers, fur trappers, travelers of overland trails, railroad workers, coal miners, cowboys, sheepherders, homesteaders, business people, trona miners and oil and gas workers.

Sweetwater County's history began long before written records. In prehistoric times the landscape was swampy and inhabited by great dinosaurs. Thousands of years later Native Americans, mostly Shoshone and Ute, claimed the land. The first white men moving through the area with regularity were the mountain men. The first Rocky Mountain Rendezvous was held in 1825 in Sweetwater County, as was a later gathering in 1834 that is said to have been the largest rendezvous ever.

 Several major emigrant trails passed through the county including the Oregon, California, Mormon, Overland, and Cherokee Trails, as well as the Pony Express Trail, 1861 transcontinental telegraph line and Ben Holladay's Central Overland Express stage line. Vitally important to the history of the county was the coming of the transcontinental railroad in 1868. This was instrumental in the creation and development of Sweetwater County's two major population centers, Green River and Rock Springs.  Green River was the major railroad town due to the nearness of a water supply, while Rock Springs became the coal mining center of the county.


Executive Director: Brigida "Brie" Blasi -- This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Curator: Amanda Benson -- This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Exhibits Coordinator: Dave Mead -- This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Volunteer Coordinator: Vacant  
Museum Assistants: Zaundra Hamilton, Dick Blust -- dblust [at] sweetwatermuseum [dot] org


Board of Directors

The museum is governed by a 5 member board appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Each member serves a 3 year term which can be renewed once. If you are interested in serving on the museum board or another county board, you can fill out an application here.

Danielle Mathey, Chair
Richelle Rawlings-Carroll, Vice Chair
Tony Niemiec, Treasurer
Bonnie Baker
Tim Savage