A WARSHIP NAMED FOR THE GREEN RIVER SERVED IN THE SECOND WORLD WAR
- Hits: 126
View the photo here
October 17, 2019
The Sweetwater County Historical Museum and the New Studio are seeking help from the public in obtaining information about a photograph taken nearly a century ago.
The photo, lately discovered in New Studio files, is a shot of seven United States Navy Clemson-class destroyers and their crews taken in San Diego Bay on April 29, 1922. The ships are USS Meyer, USS McCawley, USS Henshaw, USS Moody, USS Doyen, USS Laub, and USS Sinclair.
The photograph, shown here, features particularly the Henshaw, Moody, and Doyen, with the Moody in the center of the shot.
It is believed that a Sweetwater County man was likely serving aboard one of the destroyers at the time the photograph was taken, and the New Studio recently contacted the museum to request help in identifying him.
“We hope that someone will recognize the photo or know about a family member who served aboard one of the destroyers in the photo in the early 1920s,” said Brie Blasi, the museum’s director.
October 15, 2019
The Sweetwater County Historical Museum is once again issuing a warning about the dangers of going inside the Reliance Tipple, north of Rock Springs.
The Tipple is a familiar Sweetwater County landmark. Built in 1910 and used until 1936, it was used to sort coal mined in the Reliance area for shipment.
The Tipple is on county property and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is fenced and posted and the museum maintains a video surveillance system inside the structure. The presence of several trespassers inside the Tipple recently activated the surveillance system and their images were recorded and turned over to the Sweetwater County Sheriff’s Office for follow-up investigation.
The Tipple’s exterior may be toured, but structural conditions inside it are highly unsafe.
The museum stressed that while visitors to the Tipple are welcome - as described on the the “Tour Wyoming” website at
www.tourwyoming.com/…/sightseeing-and-…/reliance-tipple.html , no one should go inside the structure. A 3d digital scan can be found at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFuriKDeSoE.
October 12, 2019
A special ribbon-cutting ceremony by the Rock Springs Chamber of Commerce at an iconic Rock Springs business was celebrated on Friday.
The New Studio is the oldest still-operating photographic studio in Rock Springs. It opened its doors in 1919 under the ownership of Charles August, a Greek immigrant, and Frank Nakako, who came to the United States from Japan at the age of 24.
Nakako left the business in the early 1920s and August continued to operate it until his retirement in 1945, when his sons Mike and Anthony took over. In 1976 the Augusts sold the Studio to long-time employee Oliver “Bud” Tebedo, who in turn sold it to Diane Butler, a Studio employee for 16 years, in 1994. After a total of 42 years with the business, Butler sold it to Rj Pieper and Angela Thatcher this year, on its 100th anniversary.
In 2015 the Sweetwater County Historical Museum acquired the New Studio’s extensive collection of photographs and negatives, ensuring that a century of priceless photographic records will be safely preserved for future generations.
For more pictures, and fascinating history, follow the museum on Facebook.